Merry QT Day! Rejoice!

Welcome back to the QT Gourmet Guide!

It has been awhile since we had a chance to make an entry, but a special day lured me to the blog like a moth to a flame or Steven to the rollers.

I want you to stop for a moment and feel the Spirit of QT.  Remember the days of years gone by when the family would celebrate QT Day Eve by sitting around the fire and telling stories of buffalo chicken sticks and cheese taquitos.  We would wake up the next morning and run downstairs to see what Saint QueTicus had left us in our QT bags that were hung with such care.  We would run to look under the QT tree that was adorned with various QT items such as 5 Hour Energy bottles.  What was left for me?  Was this the year I would finally get that QT tumbler?  Sadly no, not today.

Today I celebrated the 61st Anniversary of the opening of the very first QT by stopping in a new QT for me!  Store #1057 in Clover SC aka Lake Wylie.

My first impression of the store was a typical layout, but the employees were amazing.  The two QT fresh kitchenginers were very nice and said hello as I was reviewing the ordering kiosk.  The cashier was a very kind young woman that took the time to speak with an older customer.  I usually keep my ratings to food, but in this case I want to call out the help.  Keep up the good work!

Now onto the food.  You know there are MANY items I have had that I loved.  Sadly today was not one of them.  And on QT Day!  I chose the turkey and cheese croissant, chips and a Reese’s Pieces ice cream treat and a Cheerwine bottle to wash it down.

The croissant gets 3.1 chomps out of 5. Was it bad?  Well no.  Was it good? Not really.  It was kind of like the Star Wars Movie, Solo.  Perfectly serviceable, but not something I really needed.  I mean did we really have to ruin Han’s mystery?  We already knew all we needed to know!  OK back to the topic….  As I have mentioned I don’t really eat veggies and asked them to hold the lettuce and tomato.  The sandwich arrived with both, which I removed.  I will say both veggies looked very fresh and there were 4 slices of tomatoes!  Only one slice of cheese though and far too much turkey.  IMO they just need some adjustments in the turkey to cheese quota which should be no more than 3:1.  The ice cream was solid as always and comes in at a 4.72 chomps out of 5.  This gives us a total rating of 3.78 chomps out of 5 – don’t try to do the math.  It’s extremely advanced math that you probably can’t do.  Shut Up.

I was able to sit outside the QT and enjoy my food, hard to take things to go on a motorcycle.  If you have read the blog you know I have done this before.  Unlike the Gastonia experience, this was very pleasant.  A nice breeze and no weirdos walking around talking to themselves.  Only complaint was there was but one table and little shade.  I think for next QT Day I am going to ask for more tables with better umbrellas!

Happy QT Day to all and to all a goodnight!

A little bonus content for you though.  In the last few weeks we have hit various QTs while making trips to tailgate UNC Charlotte football.  The large parking lots have been nice to navigate an ambulance in and the food has been like a blessing from the Gods.  I was told next time I went into one though I needed a shirt on – in Clemson SC of all places.  I figured in SC shirts were always optional….

 

 

Merry QT Day! Rejoice!

Leave a comment